Previous Post Next Post

Food

Brought to you by

8 Storebought Cookies You Didn't Know Were Vegan

By Brooke McLay |

When it comes to switching from a traditional Western diet to a plant-based, mostly vegan diet, it’s nice to know that you don’t have to give up all your favorite convenience foods to start eating better. Here are 8 storebought cookie favorites that are make without animal products. Keep in mind, however, that foods made without animal products aren’t automatically healthy. These desserts are still just that–treats that should be eaten sparingly due to the high sugar and fat content. Still, from time to time, a little indulgence is sure welcome. Especially when you know it’s done vegan style.

nggallery id=’120816′

/
8 Storebought Cookies You Didn't Know Were Vegan

Vienna Fingers

Keebler's classic vanilla cookies, filled with cream are free from eggs, butter, and other animal products, making them a fun vegan-friendly snack.

Facts from this article gathered from PETA.

More on Babble

About Brooke McLay

brooke-mclay

Brooke McLay

Brooke McLay is a recipe developer, food writer, food photographer, and cooking show host for Babble, General Mills, and Good Cook. You can find and follow her latest whims at Cheeky Kitchen. Read bio and latest posts → Read Brooke's latest posts →

« Go back to Food

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, profile photo and other personal information you make public on Facebook (e.g., school, work, current city, age) will appear with your comment. Comments, together with personal information accompanying them, may be used on Babble.com and other Babble media platforms. Learn More.

7 thoughts on “8 Storebought Cookies You Didn't Know Were Vegan

  1. Mike says:

    Wow…

  2. Melissa says:

    Girl Scout Thin Mints made by abcsmartcookies (rather than littlebrownie, their other baker) the are also vegan!

  3. Ashli says:

    Dunwell donuts in NYC is a vegan donut shop!

  4. Hannah says:

    The Entenmanns single serve cherry pie in the Detroit MI area contain milk and eggs. Not Vegan!

  5. Cindy says:

    Remember: Conventional white cane sugar is NOT vegan! It is filtered with cow bone charcoal!

  6. Cory says:

    Most sugar is made with animal-bone char and is not vegan or vegetarian (http://www.peta.org/about/faq/Are-animal-ingredients-included-in-white-sugar.aspx). Did the writer check with the companies that make these cookies to find out what kinds of sugar are used?

  7. susan says:

    even though a product is milk and egg -free does not make it vegan. most store bought sugary items are with NONvegan granulated sugar. you need to contact the company and find out what type of sugar they are using before classifying as vegan. i know, sad sad but true. one day we’ll get there, they will stop processing sugar with bone char!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.

Previous Post Next Post