Previous Post Next Post

Celebrity

Brought to you by

Did You See the Total Lunar Eclipse on Winter Solstice? Here's a Photo!

By MariaLianos |

total lunar eclipse on winter solstice 2010

Actual photo of the total lunar eclipse on winter solstice 2010

Did you watch or miss the total lunar eclipse on the winter solstice?

I am very disappointed I forgot to set my alarm to wake up and watch this historic event!

A total lunar eclipse was visible across North America Monday night on the longest night of the year.

It was the first time a lunar eclipse has fallen on the winter solstice since 1638!  And the next one won’t come around again until 2094. 

The full moon was be darkened by the shadow of the earth as it passes between the moon and the sun.  December 21 is also the winter solstice, the longest night of the year, after which the days will begin to grow longer

Total eclipse began at 11:41 p.m. PST on Monday, or 2:41 a.m. EST on Tuesday.  NASA recommended 3:17 a.m. EST (12:17 am PST), to get the best view.

Did you see it?

More on Babble

About MariaLianos

marialianos

MariaLianos

Maria Lianos is a mom of two and Publisher/Editor of her online magazine for moms, A Mother World. She contributed to Babble’s Famecrawler blog, and currently works as the Online Editor for Social Media for Parents Canada Magazine. Maria has a Bachelor’s degree in Broadcast Journalism from Ryerson University in Toronto, Canada.

« Go back to Celebrity

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, profile photo and other personal information you make public on Facebook (e.g., school, work, current city, age) will appear with your comment. Comments, together with personal information accompanying them, may be used on Babble.com and other Babble media platforms. Learn More.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *.

Previous Post Next Post