Royal Wedding: Will You Get Up to Watch?

Royal Wedding Will Take Place at Westminster Abbey in LondonThe Royal Wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton is creating a media frenzy with tons of TV coverage but will you get UP to watch the Royal Wedding?

The ceremony is scheduled to begin at 11 a.m. in London (6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT) so if you want to watch, you’ll need to get up EARLY!

Confession: I am one of the Royal Wedding obsessed!  My 13-year-old daughter and I are getting up before the sun rises Friday morning to watch the Royal Wedding with friends, complete with English tea, scones and lots of Kleenex. I am a sucker for weddings anyway but Royal Weddings are my favorite. I was up watching Prince Charles and Princess Diana as well as Fergie and Prince Andrew.

If you plan get up to watch the Prince William and Kate Middleton nuptials, there are plenty of options.

CNN estimates that over 8,000 TV and radio reporters are in London cover the Royal Wedding.  If you want to watch the actual ceremony, it begins at 6 a.m. ET/3 a.m. PT but there’s plenty of TV coverage to watch even earlier!

If you are one of the Royal Wedding fans, grab your tea and scones to watch the Royal Nuptials here in the United States.  Coverage on most of the major TV networks starts around 4am EST.

ABC Good Morning America – ABC has Barbara Walters and Diane Sawyer in London anchoring “Good Morning America” at 4 a.m. EST and Robin Roberts reporting from Westminster Abbey. In addition to these heavy hitters, the GMA Royal Wedding Coverage has Newsweek editor Tina Brown on board as well as London Daily Mail columnist Katie Nicholl and Prince Charles’ former press secretary Colleen Harris.

BBC and BBC America – If you want to go to the source, you can’t beat the BBC! BBC America offers BBC One journalist Huw Edwards anchoring Royal Wedding coverage starting at 3 am EST!

CBS and The Early Show – CBS will cover the Royal wedding starting at 5am EST/2 am PST! There will be a special edition of the Early Show on Friday.

NBC and Today Show -NBC will be covering the wedding live starting at 4am EST/1am PST.  The Royal Wedding is THE story Friday morning on NBC’s Today show.

Want to Sleep In?

In case you want to watch the Royal Wedding but you are not OBSESSED (like me) CBS, BBC America, TLC and Reelz are among those broadcasting highlight reels starting at 8pm EST on Friday night and NBC and E! will air highlight reels at 9pm EST Friday night.

Photo: PacificCoastNews

Tagged as: , , ,

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, profile photo and other personal information you make public on Facebook (e.g., school, work, current city, age) will appear with your comment. Learn More.