Loading
Welcome to Babble,
Settings
Sign Out

Get the Babble Newsletter!

Already have an account? .

MENU

Facebook FAQs

facebook FAQs

Facebook Sharing Facts:

What’s the deal with this ‘Social Sharing’ box I see on articles and videos? What’s it do?

You can now automatically share with your friends everything you’re reading and watching on Babble — no more extra clicks or updates to inform your friends of the hottest posts and information from your favorite bloggers. Let them see what you’re reading, have all your friends do the same and consider yourselves the most informed parents around.

facebook-faq

What if I don’t want to share everything I’m doing? My boss will see I’m on Babble way too much, and I might be reading something on a sensitive topic that I don’t want people seeing that I’m reading?

You’re in total control — turn sharing on, turn it off, or set your share setting to “Share only posts I choose to share.” When this option is selected an option will appear above posts to share or not to share, just toggle it in between articles you want to share and those that you don’t — whatever you want.

facebook-faq

What if I shared something I didn’t want to?

No worries, just click on “My Activity” and see the posts you have shared and click the “x” to delete or go to your Facebook Activity Log and delete the items you don’t want to share. For questions about your Facebook activity log visit: http://www.facebook.com/help/activitylog

facebook-faq

Follow your Favorite Bloggers:

By “Following” a blogger on Babble you will receive notifications in your news feed through Facebook when your “Followed” blogger post an article on Babble. Simply login through Facebook and click “Follow” whenever it’s available.

facebook-faq-Follow

How is Following different from “Liking” someone?

When you Follow someone on Babble you only receive notifications in your Facebook feed related to their activity on Babble. When you Like or Friend someone all of their content can be displayed in your activity feeds.

How do I Unfollow someone?

You’re in total control — simply click Unfollow on anyone you have followed.

facebook-faq-unfollow

Facebook Comments FAQ:

Please keep in mind you are responsible for the content you post on Babble.com. Content that includes profanity, personal attacks or antisocial behavior (such as “spamming” or “trolling”), or is otherwise inappropriate will be removed. Users who violate our Terms of Use may be banned. Some sections of Babble.com utilize Facebook’s commenting system (those sections are clearly identified as such). Below are some Frequently Asked Questions regarding Facebook Comments:

Is a Facebook account required in order to comment on Babble.com?

You must have a Facebook account to add a comment on certain sections of Babble.com. You can easily create an account here. Note that some public computers or workplaces may restrict access to Facebook, which in turn would limit your ability to post a comment from that location.

Can I report an abusive comment?

Certainly. We strive for a civil discussion, and users can flag any comment that is offensive by clicking on the “X” in the upper right corner of each post. This allows you to either ‘Report an Abuse’ or ‘Mark as Spam’, prompting Facebook moderators to review the message and determine whether or not it meets standards. The comment will be removed from your view. Facebook tracks abuse reports and automatically bans users who are consistently abusive.

Will my Facebook friends also see my comments?

By default, any comment you post on Babble.com via Facebook also will appear on your Facebook account (e.g., timeline, news feed) as a public comment (meaning your Facebook friends and other Facebook users will be able to see it). If you prefer that a given message not appear on your Facebook account, simply uncheck the ‘Post to Facebook’ box adjacent to each comment module before posting your comment. That option is not available when replying to another user’s comment (if you reply to another user’s comment, your reply will appear on that user’s Facebook account, whether or not he/she is your friend on Facebook).

How much can other Babble.com commenters see from my Facebook profile?

People will see personal information you have made public on Facebook. You can adjust certain personal information revealed with your comment by using the standard Facebook privacy settings, located here. On Facebook, you can access your Privacy settings and adjust all categories to your level of comfort, although you will not be able to prevent your Facebook name and profile photo from appearing with your comment.

Can I delete my comment after it’s posted?

Yes, hover over the comment and click the ‘pencil’, then click ‘delete’, then click ‘confirm’. More details here: https://www.facebook.com/help/105443102880679/ Note: Deleting a comment on Babble.com will remove it from both Babble.com and Facebook. To remove it from Facebook only (and leave it publicly visible on Babble.com), delete the comment on Facebook. You may choose ‘hide from timeline’ on Facebook to prevent other Facebook users from seeing your comment on Facebook.

Can I edit a comment?

Not at this time. However, you can delete and repost.

What if my question wasn’t answered here?

You may email us at help@babble.com or, if you are having problems with your Facebook account, visit the Facebook Help page.