Norad Santa Tracker: Where Is Santa Claus Right This Very Minute?

Norad escort

Santa's long journey has begun

Good news, Santa watchers! NORAD has confirmed that Santa Claus, the reindeer and his well-stocked, well-powered sleigh took off from the North Pole and into the arctic sky at 6:00 a.m. EST (5:00 a.m. CST, 4:00 a.m. MST, 3:00 a.m. PST).

NORAD is confirming that Santa has already arrived at and left such locations as Fuji, Kyoto, Yokohama, Seoul, Yakutsk (where’s he’s reporting extra frigid temperatures), Beijing, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Australia, Jakarta, Taiping, Bangkok, Phnom Penh, Laos, Hanoi, Lhasa, Krasnoyarsk and Dudinka.

If he was already in your town or city but you didn’t see him, that actually makes sense. His stay in each home is limited to just three ten-thousandths of a second. Those are some lightening-fast moves for a man more than 16 centuries old. Of course, the most important thing isn’t actually seeing him, but that he left a little something for you under the tree, right?

Keep in mind that Santa usually starts at the International Date Line in the Pacific Ocean and travels west. After he visits South Pacific, New Zealand, Australia, Japan, Asia, Africa and Western Europe, he’ll head to Canada, the United States, Mexico and Central and South America. Hopefully there’s no bad weather causing delays, but anything can happen.

Extra anxious on the whereabouts of Santa? Remember to check out NORAD Tracks Santa, where you can follow him today on his journey on Google Earth. Almost as fun as the presents is watching him fly through the Christmas night sky.

If Santa hasn’t dropped down your chimney yet — be patient! The current population of the Earth is 6,889,850,253, so he’s understandably got a few stops to go before he makes his way to a street near you.

Ho, ho, ho!

Image: Wikipedia

Tagged as: , , , , , ,

Use a Facebook account to add a comment, subject to Facebook's Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your Facebook name, profile photo and other personal information you make public on Facebook (e.g., school, work, current city, age) will appear with your comment. Learn More.